Everyday Random Thoughts

Remember when I told you guys that I was working on a project and that I’d post some pictures as I made progress? Well, I haven’t made any progress. Although my vacation is almost completely gone, I’ve still had a little bit of time to climb into the stand, and I even traded my bow for some heels and glitter when I joined my co-workers at a charity gala! I also got to spend some pretty quality time with family and with my girlfriends. I’ve even started my annual holiday hours at our local dairy farm and with that, I’ve been looking at the calendar and it’s occurred to me that the holiday season is officially here and it’s not going anywhere! Where on earth have my weekends gone?! Umm… I’m still crossing my fingers to have the skirt done before Christmas and preferably, not long after we get our tree!

Speaking of a tree… A long time ago, I’m talking like 5 years ago, I was super excited to decorate the house on the hill for Christmas (I wasn’t officially a resident yet!), and I had made some fantastic progress that night too! Usually it takes me 8 hours and another day to decorate our tree, because I just can’t settle for empty spaces and un-even lights; but that year, everything seemed to work out perfectly… until my Mr got home. I was so excited to share it with him, and although he told me that it looked good, he also said it had to go. What! Go where? Apparently there was a rule at the house on the hill, and that rule was ‘no fake Christmas trees’… ever. He said he didn’t make the rules, he just followed them. So, it quickly became our little tradition to bear the weather and find ourselves the perfect, very real tree. I’m surprised this guy still likes me – for as long as it takes me to decorate, it takes me as equally long (if not longer) to finally pick a tree! I like them tall and round, with no empty spaces… you wouldn’t believe how difficult it can be sometimes! (P.S. if you’re reading this, I’m so very thankful for those patience of yours!)

That same year we bought a [real] Christmas tree and we went couch shopping, and the very next day, I found out that I was finally getting a puppy (the puppy I’d been begging for, for years) for Christmas! Today, my puppy has grown into the sweetest, easiest, 85 lb, golden, lap dog! Neither of us could have asked for a better boy – we have been pretty spoiled! This year, we’ll repeat the tradition; only I’m positive that our couch is fine and I’m not actually sure when we’ll get to hunting down the perfect tree… but, in just a few short days, we’ll be welcoming yet another pup into our home! That’s right, somehow I was talked into a hunting dog as our mutually agreed upon gift to each other this year… #PheasantForDays!

It’s going to be a pretty exciting month as we rehash our puppy training days and both travel to and host Christmas’ as we do so! Please keep us in your thoughts!

Ugh, so back to that project of mine… Umm… I’m still crossing my fingers to have it done before Christmas…

Just me, living my life the everday way.

Leave a comment